Home > Membership > Awards



Making A Difference Award

This award is to recognize contributions made by a society member, in such areas as community service, education, or the CPA association. The award may recognize contributions in one or more of these three areas. More than one award may be presented in a given year. A recipients must be a CPA and a Society member. Nomination due by May 15

Making a Difference Award Nomination

Award Recipients

2009  James G. Stewart
2011  Harris Widmer
2012  James Schmidt
2013  Rick Lee
2014  Gordy Smith
2017  Elise Siverson

2018  John Mongeon
2019 Michael Schmitz
2021 Clarence Sitter
2021 Michael Bakk
2022 Dianna Kindseth
2023 Tammy Gerszewski

Prior to 2009, three separate awards were available. Recipients are listed below:

Outstanding Educator
1990  Joan Houston
1991   Rod Medalen
1992   Dick King
1993   DuWayne Wacker
1995   Mary Loyland
1997   Carol Dobitz
1998   Mary Bader
1999   James Hansen
2000   Jay Wahlund
2001   Terry Knoepfle
2002   Boyd Binde
2005   Harold H. Wilde
2006   Art Hiltner
2007   George & Marlane Sanderson

Public Service
1982   Charles E. Bailly
1983   Stan Hoistad
1984   Ludwik Kulas
1985   Shirley R. Martz
1987   Loyd Orser
1989   Harris Widmer
1991  Robert Spolum
1992   Lyle Johnson
1996   Frank Kadlec
1997   Wayne Bradley
1999   Stan Sandvik
2006   Mary Jo Richard
Outstanding Volunteer
2003   Faye Miller
2004   Stan Sandvik
2005   Tom Ribb
2006   Nikki Schmaltz
             Dennis Fuhrman
2007   Rod Melby
2008   Terry Delaney

Lifetime Membership Award

This award recognizes long-standing Society participation. The recipient must be a CPA and retired (not employed full time, and 60 or older). Generally the award will be presented to a CPA who has been actively involved over a number of years. Nominations due May 15.

Lifetime Membership Award Nomination

Past Recipients

Oliver Eide, 1978
Gerald Conoboy, 1978
Harold Ikelman, 1978
RD Koppenhaver, 1979
Carl Person, 1979
Michael Zine, 1983
Oscar Hay, 1983
Rudoph Ludvigson, 1983
Erv Weber, 1985
Stan Hoistad, 1987
Baldwin Martz, 1988
Shirley Martz, 1988
Russell W. Anderson, 1988
Loyd Orser, 1989
Jim Blomquist, 1990
Dan Kratochvil, 1992
Paul Storsteen, 1992
Ben Hahn, 1993
Fred Mannes, 1993
Dale Boelz, 1995
Ludwick Kulas, 1995
Gordon Bartholomay, 1996
Robert J. Hoover, 1996
C. J. Whalen, 1999
Duane Loven, 2000
Chet Nelson, 2000
Rod Medalen, 2001
Rod Wilson, 2004
Lynn Wyum, 2004
Gary D. Hovdestad, 2005
Darold D. Rath, 2005
Don Bostrom, 2006
Terry McKenna, 2006
Jerry Olson, 2007
Robert Brostrom, 2009
Dominic St. Peter, 2009
Frank Kadlec, 2010
Gary L. Anderson, 2010
Paul Drees, 2011
Jim Stewart, 2011

Dave Riskey, 2012
Rod Melby, 2012
Warren Kitzan, 2012
Dennis Fuhrman, 2013
Tom Ribb, 2013
Jim M. Thompson, 2014
Jerry Strom, 2014
Nicholas Voller, 2015
Lloyd Case, 2015
John Wall, 2015
Joan Houston, 2016
Gordy Smith, 2016
Nikki Schmaltz, 2017
Michael Bakk, 2018
Marvy Grueneich, 2019
Harold Wilde, 2019
Bill Weispfenning, 2020
Mary Jo Richard, 2021
Mike Bullinger, 2021
Terri Clark, 2022
Pete Hoistad, 2023
Harris Widmer, 2023

Membership Milestones

The Society recognizes members at various membership milestones. Certificates are awarded for 10, 20, 30, 40, and 50 years of continuous membership.

CPA Exam Performance

These awards recognize strong results on the CPA Exam. The awards are to be presented to the 3 candidates with the highest composite Exam scores, provided they pass all four parts on their first attempt, within the 18 month conditioning period. To be eligible, an individual must be a North Dakota exam candidate, a graduate of a ND or border city college, and have completed the Exam during the last year prior to Convention (ending with the most recent April/May window). Staff selects the recipients based on the award criteria.